Leandra Ramm | Mezzo-Soprano

Duraflé Requiem and Britten’s Rejoice in the Lamb

Date(s) - November 21, 2021
4:00 pm - PDT

Calvary Presbyterian Church

Rejoice in the Lamb (Op. 30) is a cantata for four soloists, SATB choir, and organ composed by Benjamin Britten in 1943 and based on the poem Jubilate Agno by Christopher Smart (1722–1771). The poem, written while Smart was in an asylum depicts idiosyncratic praise and worship of God by all created beings and things, each in its own way. The cantata was commissioned by the Reverend Walter Hussey for the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the consecration of St Matthew’s Church, Northampton.